Kildare South Fine Gael TD Martin Heydon has this week welcomed back voters from Churchtown, Kilberry, Kildangan, Monasterevin, Harristown and Ballybracken to Kildare South as part of an enlarged four seat constituency following the publication of the report of the constituency commission.

“I had called for these areas to be returned to Kildare as part of my submission to the Commission.  The breaching of a county boundary is always difficult for those who are moved for voting purposes and I know from many living in those areas previously moved to Laois the frustration and disillusionment it caused.

“I am sure the residents of Portarlington, Ballybrittas and Killenard are also angered at being moved from Laois and Offaly to Kildare South but I look forward to getting to know and working with them while they are with us in Kildare South.  Similarly I look forward to engaging with voters in Carbury, Drehid, Kilrainey and Carrick who have moved from Kildare North.

“The revised constituency and additional seat is ultimately positive for Kildare, increasing our overall County representation in Dail Eireann to 8. However the new area of Kildare South now stretches from the Carlow and Wicklow borders in the South to the Meath border in the North giving a vast area to cover in what will essentially remain a 3 seat constituency while Sean O’Fearaghail is Ceann Comhairle.